History of Rotorua Karters Inc. 1990 Invitation Street Sprint

Rotorua Karters inc. was formed in 1990 by a group of interested kart racing people from Rotorua to run a street sprint event to be held at the old railways yard.

The first “committee” meeting took place on the 4th of April 1990 at the home of Brian and Sue Williams. There where 14 people in attendance. Danny McCort was voted in as the first Chairman. A date of the 28th of July was set for the street sprint.

The inaugural AGM was held on 30 of January 1991, Danny McCort was again voted in as Chairman.Rotorua Karters became an affiliated to The New Zealand Kart Federation (now Kartsport New Zealand) in about March 1991. The Club has since become an incorporated Society.

The Club ran the “Railway Yard” street sprint successfully for many years. Among those of note that raced at this event, were Scott Dixon, Greg Murphy, Fabian Coulthard and current club member, Darren Aislabie.